top of page

Walgett narrowly beats Barbarians at Bre to claim minor premiership

Walgett Rams – back l-r: Chris Leerson, Charlie McGrath, Dillon Walford, Harvey Duncan, Jacob Watts, Jack Yeomans, Harry Wheelhouse, Harry Deshon, Jack Witts, Tom Younghusband, Cameron Holcombe, Ebbie Duncan, Harry Miller. Front l-r: Ed Murphy, Charlie Friend, Sam O’Brien, Tim Mutton, Charlie Toll, Sam Toll, Lachlan Holz, and Joshua Hill. Photo TWH

Western Plains Rugby Union

Walgett Rams ran down the Bourke/Bre Barbarians at Geoff New Oval, Brewarrina on Friday night - winning 20-14 after the Barbarians led 14-5 with 11 minutes to go.

Barbarians talented wing Hogan Shillingsworth was denied a potentially match winning try in the last minute of play after he dived over to score in the corner. The linesman flag went up and the Barbarians hopes were dashed.

With some solid runs by both teams and hit ups that could be heard all over the ground, there were some sore bodies after the game.

Rory Finlayson had an absolute blinder, leading the Barbarians from the front, closely followed by Jason Morton and Will Mitchell.

Sam Willoughby and Ben Power both had stellar games in the middle taking some massive hit from the big Walgett boys.

For Walgett, Dillon Walford had another massive game, scoring a critical try, setting up Harry Miller for the last try and looking dangerous every time he got the ball.

Bourke led from the start, with a Jarryd Samuelsson penalty goal. Keeping the score nice and close for the best part of 80-minutes, Jarryd kicked 3 penalty goals.

Walgett answered back with a massive forward back and a speedy back line. […]

Read more and see lots of photos in the printed edition of The Western Herald.

To subscribe call (02) 6872 2333 today and receive The Western Herald in your letterbox next week!

Bre/Bourke Barbarians – back l-r: Baden Barker, Ben Orcher, Will Foristal, Jarryd Samuelsson, Jimmy Carr, Robert Kirby, Will McAlpine, Oliver Murray, Oscar Tate, Rory Finlayson, Jason Morton, Sam Willoughby, Stephen Hertslet, Jack Cunningham, Tye Simmonds, Ned Dawson. Front: Clynton Edwards, Ben Power, Chris Williams, Scott Crowley, Will Mitchell, and George Geddes. Photo TWH


bottom of page