top of page

Two Water Holes defeat Louth by six wickets in grand final

The winning Two Water Holes team – at back l-r: Ernie Delany, George Dickson, Troy Hayman (c), Matt Attenborough, Russell Tiffen, Eric Den Hartog, Matt Clarke, Matt Ayliffe. Front: Khyal Hayman, Dave Marr, Will Carney, Mick Willoughby, Mick Jackson, and Sam Simmons

Bourke District Cricket Competition

Two Water Holes inflicted a heavy six-wicket defeat on 2023 premiers – Louth at North Bourke Oval on Saturday – to win the 2024 premiership.

The match began on a sombre note as players from both teams lined up for a one-minute silence to remember prominent and well-liked Bourke citizen, Ted Rice, who passed away suddenly last weekend.

After compiling a season record of 221 runs against Boomerangs last weekend, the Louth batsmen fell to some accurate Two Water Holes bowling to be all out from 44 runs off just 18.2 overs.

Louth won the toss, and with batting confidence high, elected to bat.

Once again, opener Will Mitchell top scored for Louth with 26 runs, but he could not muster find any support from the other Louth batsmen.

Wickets fell with regularity as Two Water Holes bowlers Mick Willoughby, Eric Den Hartog, Matt Clarke, and Troy Hayman got amongst the wickets.

Top order batsmen, Richard Ridge (3), Guy McDonald (0) and James McClure (0) all fell to a hat trick by Two Water Holes new bowling recruit – Eric Den Hartog.

Line- and-length was the order of the day as Eric and Mick Willoughby ripped through the Louth defence.

Will Mitchell was the fourth wicket to fall when the score was 4/31 and the next six wickets fell for just 13 runs.

Louth captain Ben Nott attempted to resurrect the innings but fell for just five runs edging a beautiful rising delivery from Mick Willoughby, which was snapped up behind the wicket by Dave Marr. […]

Read more and see lots of photos in the printed edition of The Western Herald.

To subscribe call (02) 6872 2333 today and receive The Western Herald in your letterbox next week!


bottom of page