top of page

Thrills and spills at Ricky Walford Oval over weekend

Cody Walker playing for the winning team MKB at Walgett on Saturday. Photo TWH

Walgett Rugby League Knockout

The scorching heat didn’t deter the vibrant Rugby League spirit that engulfed Ricky Walford Oval in Walgett on Saturday.

The event was an impressive showcase of the sport, with 30 action-packed Rugby League matches ranging from the youngest talents in the under-8’s category to thrilling men’s and women’s contests.

In the men’s division, amongst the sixteen formidable teams that battled fiercely, the MKB (Montkeila St Bend) boys emerged victorious with a stellar performance.

In the final MKB secured an 18-14 victory over the formidable Nigel T Brown team.

Notable try-scorers for MKB included Tysen Hodge (2) and Cody Walker (1), with Tysen Hodge, Grant Green, and Brighton Green exhibiting their kicking prowess during conversions.

For the Nigel T Brown team, James Stanley and Eric Fernando made their mark with a try each, while Malakai Trout showcased his accuracy, kicking three successful conversions.

The women’s finals saw the 4 Tiddas Gingi team triumphing over the Mungindi Grasshoppers with a decisive 24-0 victory.

The 4 Tiddas displayed exceptional teamwork, effectively guarding their defensive line against any breaches.

Pam Abel led the scoring with two tries, while Stevie-Lee Dennis and Quenisha Walford each contributed a single try. Mikayla Cullen added to the win with three successful conversions.

In the junior categories, Goodooga emerged as the under-8 finalists, while Coonamble claimed the under 10’s and 12’s titles.

Read more and see lots of photos in the printed edition of The Western Herald.

To subscribe call (02) 6872 2333 today and receive The Western Herald in your letterbox next week!


bottom of page