top of page

Natural disaster declaration for Western NSW

The Bogan River at Nyngan is rising again after rain around Bogan Gate and Forbes. Photo TWH

A state of natural disaster has been declared for the local government areas of Bourke, Brewarrina, Bogan, Walgett, Gilgandra, Lachlan, Narrabri, Warren and Warrumbungles following severe flooding which began on 14 September 2022.

Minister for Western NSW, Dugald Saunders, said the natural disaster declaration was an important first step in offering support for local communities under the Disaster Recovery Funding Arrangements, which are jointly funded by the NSW and Commonwealth governments.

“We’re making assistance available to vulnerable people whose homes or essential household items have been destroyed or damaged, and for business owners and primary producers who have suffered direct damage,” Mr Saunders said.

“Assistance is also available to restore essential public assets like local roads.

“I am urging any local homeowner, business owner or primary producer who has suffered any direct damage from these significant weather events to investigate what support might be available to them.”

Assistance available under the Disaster Recovery Funding Arrangements for affected regions in Western NSW may include:

• Help for eligible people whose homes or belongings have been damaged.

• Support for local councils to help with the costs of cleaning up and restoring damaged essential public assets.

• Concessional interest rate loans for small businesses, primary producers and non-profit organisations; and freight subsidies for primary producers.

For more information, go to the ServiceNSW website.


bottom of page