top of page

Flood recovery assistance available

Member for Parkes Mark Coulton says drought recovery grants are available for small businesses and non profit organisations. Photo supplied

Flood recovery assistance is now available throughout areas inundated by floodwaters including in the Bourke and Brewarrina Shire areas.

Member for Parkes Mark Coulton said the flood assistance had been extended to Bourke, Brearrina, Bogan Cobar and Walgett shires.

“Severe weather over summer has impacted communities across the Parkes electorate, so I’m pleased all affected people will be able to access assistance,” Mr Coulton said.

“Local councils will be able to operational response costs and repairs of damaged public assets like roads and bridges.

“Residents will also receive support, including grants to replace essential household contents or repair structural damage to homes.”

Assistance also includes low interest loans for small businesses, primary producers and non-profit organisations, freight subsidies for primary producers, and grants to eligible non-profit organisations.

Small businesses and not-for-profit organisations in the Parkes electorate can apply for grants of up to $50,000 to help them recover from recent severe storm and flooding events.

Federal Member for Parkes, Mark Coulton, said the Storm and Flood Small Business Disaster Recovery Grant is for small businesses or not-for-profit organisations that suffered direct physical damage because of the storms and floods in November and December 2021.

“Our small businesses and not-for-profits were not immune to the impacts of storms and flooding at the end of last year,” Mr Coulton said.

“They are the lifeblood of our regional communities, so it’s vital to provide support to help them clean up and keep operating”.

The new grants of up to $50,000 are being jointly funded by the Commonwealth and NSW governments and complement a raft of existing flood recovery supports including ongoing clean-up and targeted industry support.

The grants are available in the local government areas of Bourke, Bogan, Brewarrina, Cobar, Coonamble, Dubbo, Gilgandra, Gunnedah, Gwydir, Moree Plains, Narrabri, Narromine, Walgett, Warren, Warrumbungle, and the Unincorporated Area west of Bourke Shire.

For information on personal hardship assistance, contact ServiceNSW on 13 77 88. For a concessional loan or grant, contact the NSW Rural Assistance Authority on 1800 678 593.


bottom of page