2022 Federal Election – Meet the candidates for Parkes

The Parkes electorate covers a huge area of western NSW, from Dubbo in the south-eastern corner, to Moree in the northeast and Broken Hill in the west.

It covers most of the Gwydir council area and 17 other local government areas, including Bourke, Brewarrina, Walgett, Bogan, Cobar, Coonamble, Warren, Broken Hill, Central Darling, Dubbo, Lachlan, Narromine, Moree Plains, Narrabri, Gilgandra, Gunnedah, and Warrumbungle.

The seat has always been held by the National Party and was named after the longest serving Premier of NSW, Henry Parkes.

There are eight candidates vying for your vote, representing a diverse range of political ideals: sitting member Mark Coulton – Nationals, Trish Frail – The Greens, Jack Ayoub – ALP, Petrus Van Der Steen – United Australia Party, Peter Rothwell – Liberal Democrats, Derek Hardman – Indigenous-Aboriginal Party of Australia, Benjamin Fox – Informed Medical Options Party and Stuart Howe – Independent.

Read more local news in the printed edition of The Western Herald.

To subscribe call (02) 6872 2333 today and receive The Western Herald in your letterbox next week!