top of page

Goodooga Magpies make it two premierships in a row

Goodooga 1st Grade Men’s team – back l-r: Samuel Jackson Bolton, Michael Waites, Bhiamie Williamson, Adrian Scott, Jeffrey Hardy, Jamie Lake, Cameron Lane, Adrian Brown, Melvyn Samuelsson, Kaden Lamb, Tyler Dennis, and Kayden Hilt. Front: Michael Lake, Dylan Ciprian, Justin Boney, Ashley Wood, Farren Lamb, Shelton Brown, Les Hooper and Clayton Wood.

Barwon-Darling Rugby League Grand Finals

Despite three tries from Bourke’s Jordan Elwood, the Goodooga Magpies have again turned around a half time grand final deficit to defeat the Bourke Warriors at Goodooga on Sunday.

From the first whistle to the final siren, the game kept everyone on the edge of their seats.

The competition was neck-and-neck throughout, with both teams giving it their all.

In the opening half, Bourke forward David Ford suffered a suspected broken collarbone and was taken to Lightning Ridge Hospital.

Despite the challenges, both teams exhibited sportsmanship and discipline.

At halftime, Bourke led 16-10, but at the final whistle Goodooga emerged triumphant with a final score of 30-22.

The Magpies sealed their victory in the last two minutes as Samuel Jackson Bolton scored the decisive try.

For Bourke’s Jordan Elwood scored three tries and Ben Orcher scored a try.

Goodooga spread the tries around – with Bhiamie Williamson (2), and Adrian Brown, Samuel Jackson Bolton, Justin Boney, and Jeffrey Hardy with one try each.

The conversions were pivotal as Farren Lamb of Goodooga kicked three, and Hogan Shillingsworth contributed one conversion and a penalty goal.

Hogan Shillingsworth of Bourke was named the Barwon Darling Rugby League best and fairest for the Men’s Seniors, while Samuel Jackson Bolton secured the Ronnie Gibbs Player of the Match award.

Congratulations to Goodooga for their outstanding performance! {…]

Read more and see lots of photos in the printed edition of The Western Herald.

To subscribe call (02) 6872 2333 today and receive The Western Herald in your letterbox next week!

Bourke Seniors 1st Grade Men’s team – back l-r: Dale Barker, Clynton Edwards, James Moore, Ewan Elwood, Lachlan Budd, Max Nina, Douglas Dennis, Paulo Edwards, David Ford, and Aiden Orcher. Front: Jordan Elwood, Ben Orcher, Shimar Dennis, Joel Bates, Hogan Shillingsworth, Jake Elwood, Kade Dixon, Mervyn Powell, Rueben Kelly-Barker and Keenan Elwood. Braith Kelly with ball at front.


bottom of page