top of page

Des racks up 55 years of service

Des O’Mally has seen some big changes in the Rural Fire Service over the last 55 years. Photo TWH

Bourke Emergency Services Person of the Year for 2024 is Des O’Mally, who joined the Wampra Crossing Rural Fire Brigade in 1968.

His baptism of fire came in March 1969 when a huge bushfire broke out on Kilberoo Station burning on a 32km front across the Cuttaburra Basin through to Clifton Downs.

Since then, Des has been an active Rural Fire Service volunteer in the Rural Fire service volunteer working tirelessly on incidents within the Bourke Shire area, the Barwon Darling zone and in other areas in NSW. […]

Read more in the printed edition of The Western Herald.

To subscribe call (02) 6872 2333 today and receive The Western Herald in your letterbox next week!


bottom of page