top of page

Brewarrina Shire Council elections — Three Bre Councillors elected as count continues

Councillor Vivian Slack-Smith has been reelected to Brewarrina Council, along with Clr Angelo Pippos and Clr Tommy Stanton. PHOTO TWH

The count continues in the local elections, with only three Brewarrina candidates sure to get a seat on council, as of Tuesday.

Vivian Slack-Smith, Angelo Pippos and Tommy Stanton have all been re-elected with sizeable margins, with six of the remaining seven candidates having to wait until the count is complete around December 17 to find out who will join them.

For the first time in almost a decade, Phillip O’Connor will not join the councillors after his retirement, which means there will be a new mayor when council reconvenes in January.

Vivian Slack-Smith, who was Deputy Mayor, is a popular contender for the top job but said its was too early to decide if she will put her hat in the ring.

“It’s humbling really, but I got the vote, and I am very supportive of our community, and it is an absolute pleasure to be able to serve it,” Councillor Slack-Smith said.

“The result is not official yet, but it is a new chapter for the council.

“It’s a little early to decide about contending for the mayoral role and I am not getting too far ahead regarding that.”

Councillor Slack-Smith was first elected in a by-election in 2017, and this is her first full election.

Read more local news in the printed edition of The Western Herald.

To subscribe call (02) 6872 2333 today and receive The Western Herald in your letterbox next week!


bottom of page